If you have concerns about gambling, please visit: BeGambleAware.org, Gamcare.org.uk or Gamstop.co.uk.

Rugby World Cup

Rugby World Cup Winner Odds

By DAVE ANDERSON, 30/09/2019.

If you'll be betting on who you think is going to win the Rugby World Cup in Japan, we've listed the best odds that British Bookmakers offer on each team in the tournament.

Our Rugby World Cup favourites preview is also worth checking if you've yet to pick a team, as is our page showcasing the latest signup offers if you'll be betting at a new bookmaker.

Rugby World Cup: Best Odds

Online bookmakers best odds for each teams chances of winning the 2019 Rugby World Cup are displayed below. Use the ALL ODDS tab to view betting odds from more bookmakers.

NB: Rugby World Cup odds correct at the time this betting preview went live and are subject to change. Last updated: 01:16 on 30/09/2019.

Rugby World Cup: Favourites

The 2019 Rugby World Cup is underway in Japan, and with some of the most impressive teams and players in the world showcasing their talent, it's all set to be a fantastic tournament.

Bookmakers have chosen their top contenders to win the Rugby World Cup with the usual nations in with a chance of being crowned champions on Saturday November 2nd.

New Zealand

New Zealand have been drawn in Pool B, which is set to be one of the most interesting pools in the opening rounds of the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.

The All Blacks are the favourites to win the Rugby World Cup, and a stunning 23-13 victory against the the South Africans in their opening match, was the perfect start to their campaign.

The ever impressive New Zealand side should easily beat Canada and Namibia in their next outings in the 2019 Rugby World Cup, before they face Italy.

Steve Hansen’s side have won the last 2 World Cup tournaments, when they beat France (2011) and Australia (2015), and The Kiwi’s look set to bring the title home again from Japan.

South Africa

British bookmakers offer the Springboks as the other main contenders to take the 2019 Rugby World Cup trophy home, however a tough Pool B draw has left the South African’s on the backfoot after losing to New Zealand in their opening match.

The other sides in Pool B shouldn’t prove too difficult to beat for Rassie Erasmus’ side, and there is no reason why the Springboks won’t progress to the later stages of the competition.

The last time South Africa won the World Cup was back in 2007 when they beat Russia in the final, and although they made it through to the last 4 in 2011 and 2015, they will be hoping to improve on their previous success and secure another Rugby World Cup win in Japan.


England have reached the finals of the Rugby World Cup on 3 occasions, but have only walked away with 1 title, which was back in 2003 when they beat Australia.

Eddie Jones’s squad may be among the bookmakers favourites to win the competition, but they have a bit of a challenging group, facing both France and Argentina in Pool C.

Ranked 3rd in the World, the English squad beat Tonga by a staggering 35-3 in their opening match, and now face the USA before more challenging fixtures against Argentina and France.

Although it’s a tougher Pool than they would have liked, England are expected to move through the early stages of the competition, and bookmakers offer some decent odds on them winning.


Ireland have played in all 8 of the Rugby World Cup competitions, and made it to the quarter-final stages on 6 occasions, but they have never progressed to the semi-finals.

This year however, bookmakers offer Joe Schmidt’s side as one of the top contenders, having been drawn in Pool A against Scotland, Japan, Russia and Somoa.

Ireland’s opening match saw them secure a fantastic 27-3 victory against Scotland, and if they Japan in their next fixture, they will be in a strong position to progress to the latter stages.

The Irish side has improved greatly over the past few years, and if they maintain their form, they could be the side that surprises us all and takes their first Rugby World Cup title.


Ranked 4th in the World, Wales have always been a strong side, however they have had little success in the Rugby World Cup in recent times.

They made it to the quarter-finals of the Rugby World Cup back in 2015, but the best they have ever done was way back in 1987 when they finished in 3rd place.

This year, Warren Gatland’s side have been drawn in Pool D, and if the Welsh can beat Australia they will be in with a strong chance of progressing through the pool stages.

One of their opening Rugby World Cup matches against Georgia shouldn’t prove too difficult, and if they can secure victories over Fiji and Uruguay, Wales could be a strong contender.


The Wallabies have won the Rugby World Cup on 2 occasions, back in 1991 when they beat England, and then again in 1999 when they beat France.

The Australians have always done well, making it the semi-final stages in 6 competitions, and although Michael Cheika’s team made in to the final in 2015, they were beaten by New Zealand.

This year, they are in with a strong chance, given they have been drawn in Pool B, with their biggest trial coming when they face Wales in their 2nd match.

An opening victory against Fiji put them in a strong position, but they really need to keep winning if they want to top the pool and make it to the Rugby World Cup final on November 2nd.